Ages 6 – 11 Programs

Wholegroup

Fizz, Boom, Read!

2014 Summer Reading Program – July 7 – August 11

SIGN-UP begins Monday, June 16

Independent Summer Reading! Get your books at the library.

READ! and Earn raffle tickets 

ATTENTION 4th, 5th & 6th Grade students!!
Join our Summer Book Club – read this accelerated reader book -
Title: When Zachary Beaver Came to Town    by Kimberly Willis Holt
(AR level: BL 4.5   Pts 6.0)

Product Details    Pick up the book at the library, read it and then join us on 
August 5 @ 2 pm. We will discuss the book and then we’ll watch the movie version of the book. Snacks provided.   You must read the book when you sign up (remember the movie is often different from the book).    This will count as 1 book for your AR Summer Reading!

Books will be available at the library.

****************************************************************************

Chemistry Week
Monday, July 7 – Family Nite: 
Science Centers (chemistry stew) w/ craft: bring a t-shirt to decorate
Tuesday, July 8 – Drop-in craft: Scratch art
Thursday, July 10  at 2 pm – Ed Popielarczyk, magician, balloon artist

Senses Week
Monday, July 14 – Family Nite: 
Sensory Centers
Tuesday, July 15 – Drop-in craft: Make a sensory box
Wednesday, July 16 – Icky Sticky  (sponsored by a Wachusett CFCE Grant)
Thursday, July 17 – Teaching Creatures: Animal Defenses, live animals presentation

Weather & Motion Week
Monday, July 21 – Family Nite: 
Lego Races
Tuesday, July 22 – Drop in craft: make a windchime
Thursday, July 24 – Truck Day: Trucks Around Town

Geology Week
Monday, July 28 -
 Family Nite: Rock Identification w/ craft: make a lava lamp
Tuesday, July 29 - Drop-in Craft: create stone art w/ rocks and model magic
Thursday, July 31 - TBA

Animal Week
Monday, August 4 -
 Second Chance Animal Shelter will visit (bring an item to donate!)
Tuesday, August 5 - Drop-in craft: make an animal puppet
Thursday, August 7 – Zoo in Forest Park, live animals presentation

Monday, August 11: End of Summer Reading: Pizza Party & Raffle Drawing  6 pm

Fizz, Boom, READ! is sponsored by East Brookfield Public Library, the Friends of EBPL, the Massachusetts Library System, the Boston Bruins, and the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners.